DIOCESE OF ALTOONA-JOHNSTOWN 
126 Logan Boulevard PHONE:  814-695-5579
Hollidaysburg  16648       FAX:  814-695-8894
       emaildajreply@nb.net

BISHOP
Most Rev. Joseph V. Adamec, D.D., S.T.L.
About The Bishop

SECRETARY TO THE BISHOP
Rev. Lubomir J. Strecok
emaillubomir@dioceseaj.org

SECRETARY FOR COMMUNICATIONS
Sister Mary Parks, C.S.J.                     Cell Phone:  814-442-9384
       email: srmary@dioceseaj.org

RETIRED BISHOP 
Most Rev. James J. Hogan, D.D., J.C.D.   
 

VICARS GENERAL

ADMINISTRATION
Rev. Msgr. Stanley B. Carson, V.G.        email: stanbc@msn.com

The Vicar General oversees the Secretariats which organize ministry for the Diocesan Church.
Secretariat Organizational Chart

PASTORAL LIFE AND MINISTRY
Rev. Msgr. George B. Flinn, V.G., S.T.L.  email: gflinn@dioceseaj.org

The Vicar General for Pastoral Life and Ministry represents Bishop Joseph’s ministry to the priests and the pastoral life of the parishes within the Diocese of Altoona-Johnstown.  He chairs the Priests’ Personnel Board, which assists the Bishop in appointing ordained ministers to serve the faithful as pastors, parochial vicars and as chaplains in schools, hospitals and prisons.  He is assisted in this work by eight area deans.
Area Deans (Vicars Forane)

CHANCELLOR
Mrs. Teresa M. Stayer          email: tstayer@dioceseaj.org

JUDICIAL VICAR
Rev. Msgr. Michael E. Servinsky, S.T.L., J.C.L.    PHONE: 814-693-9485
Tribunal Information                             emailmesersky@dioceseaj.org

VICAR  FOR RELIGIOUS

Most Rev. Bonaventure Midili, TOR             PHONE:    814-467-4066
St. Anthony of Padua Rectory                                         814-467-7292
2201 Graham Avenue                                           FAX:  814-467-9182
Windber,  PA  15963                                           email:  bnmidili@aol.com
 

SECRETARIATS   

CHANCERY – Teresa M. Stayer
 

EVANGELIZATION - Dr. Charles J. Koren (See Education)
 email:   ckoren@dioceseaj.org

MINISTRY AND LEADERSHIP – Rev. Msgr. Robert C. Mazur   email: rmazur@dioceseaj.org(See Ministry

PASTORAL SERVICES -  Rev. Msgr. Robert J. Saly (See Ministry)

TEMPORALITIES – Mr. Larry R. Sutton sutton@dioceseaj.org
                                    Director of Finance 

Financial and Legal

Comptroller-    Mr.  Matthew Reilly          email: mreilly@dioceseaj.org

Accounting and Human Resources - Mrs. Jeanne Bryan    email: jbryan@dioceseaj.org

Information Technologies  -  Mr. Ronald Muldoon, I. T. Manager  rmuldoon@dioceseaj.org
                                           Mr. Donald Layo, Assistant I. T. Manager  dlayo@dioceseaj.org

Diocesan Shrines -  Rev. John D. Byrnes                       PHONE:  814-472-5441
                               Prince Gallitzin Chapel House         FAX:  814-472-5446
                               P.O. Box 99                                  email: jbyrnes@dioceseaj.org
                               Loretto  PA  15940-0099

Buildings and Grounds

Building Commission - Mr. Jerry McMullen          PHONE:  814-472-0603

Maintenance -   Mr. Ernie Enedy                    email: eenedy@dioceseaj.org

 
 

ADVISORY BODIES TO BISHOP JOSEPH V. ADAMEC

ALLEGATION REVIEW BOARD
Dr. Mary O'Leary Wiley
Dr. Russell Miller, MD
Sr. Mary Ann Palko, CCW
Rev. Joseph W. Fleming
Mr.  D. J. Bragonier
Rev. John Byrnes, J.C.L. (advisory to the Board on matters of Canon Law)


FINANCE COUNCIL

Mr. Frank S. Sujansky, Chair

PRESBYTERAL COUNCIL
Rev. John Palko, President

PRIESTS’ PERSONNEL BOARD
Rev. Msgr. George B. Flinn, V.G. 

DIOCESAN PASTORAL COUNCIL
Chair to be appointed in September, 2004





Tribunal

The Tribunal serves at the ecclesiastical court for the Diocese. The Bishop is the Chief Judge of the Tribunal, but delegates his judicial authority to the Judicial Vicar who acts in his place. Our Tribunal has four Judges. There are four Defenders of the Bond who have a role in marriage cases. There is one Promoter of Justice, who acts like a District Attorney in criminal cases.

This Tribunal has competency to prosecute or to vindicate the rights of physical or juridic persons or to declare facts. It can also impose or declare penalties. A major portion of the Tribunal's work involves persons who question their martial status. They want to know if they are free to marry in the Catholic Church. In these situations the Tribunal investigates the validity of that union as to whether a person is bound by marriage or is free to marry. This office has helped thousands of Catholics within the Diocese to return to the Sacraments.

The Tribunal also assists in preparing cases that must be decided in Rome.

Tribunal personnel assist and advise the Bishop in other canonical matters which affect the Diocese.